Winners Announced

Posted on 3rd October 2023

RHASS Sponsored horsescotland National Equestrian Awards 2023 Winners announced


The horsescotland National Equestrian Awards 2023, very kindly sponsored by RHASS, which took place on Friday 28th September at the Doubletree Dunblane Hydro. These prestigious awards celebrate and honour the outstanding contributions within Scottish equestrianism, providing an opportunity to both acknowledge and congratulate the success, performance, effort and sheer determination shown by so many throughout the year.
horsescotland Chair, Anthony Drew, said “ It was great to be able to once again celebrate the fantastic award winners at our 2023 National Equestrian Awards. The quality of the nominations this year gave the Board many challenges and made the process of deciding the winners very difficult. I want to thank all who took the time to submit the nominations and congratulate all those who were nominated. It was clear the impact you made. Grateful thanks must also go to RHASS for their sponsorship of the event. Our raffle and auction, which offered some excellent prizes kindly donated by various supporters of horsescotland, raised a superb total of £2375. This will be added to funds which help Member Bodies carry out projects through financial support from our Member Body Support Programme.”
After an excellent meal, following a new format for the event we moved to the National Equestrian Awards 2023, the nominations this year were phenomenal and gave the Board a challenge in each category to choose a winner. We would like to extend huge congratulations to all of our nominees and to the very well-deserved winners. Lucy Barclay-Carr along with Jim Warnock RHASS Chair, made the presentations to the award winners with the moment captured by HKF Equestrian Photographer.

The winners:

• Equestrian Business of the Year –- Strathearn Eventing – Sarah Houlden
• Employee of the Year –- Polly Steele, Scottish Racing Academy
• Youth Coach of the year – Ellie Watt
• Young Peoples Coach of the Year –– Emma Sayer
• Participation Coach of the Year –– Lorraine Buchan
• Performance Coach of the Year – Sarah Houlden
• Youth Performer of the Year –– Sandy McLean
• Performer of the Year –- Wills Oakden
• Youth Volunteer of the Year –– Lottie Le Jeune
• Volunteer of the Year –- Anna Kozicki
• Club of the Year –- Ravelrig Riding for the Disabled
• Team of the Year – Scottish Racing Academy
• Equine Breeder of the Year –- Sandra Low-Mitchell
• Project of the Year – Equi-Scotia
• Owner of the Year –– Debbie Whalley
• Writer of the Year –– Lucy Blain
• Equestrian Photo of the Year – Millie Boo Smith
• Lifetime Achievement– John Eccles
• Board Special Award – Corach Rambler and Lucinda Russell Racing

© 2024 The Association of British Riding Schools. Company Limited by Guarantee Registered in England No. 3186520. Registered Charity No. 1158748

Website by Yello